Hail, Caesar! (2016)

  • As everyone knows, I’m a sucker for a movie with punctuation. I feel like recently, I’ve been let down by movies featuring punctuation more often than not – but whatever, I still get excited when I come across a new one.
  • I feel like the trailer for this movie made it seem way funnier than the movie actually was. And I don’t mean in the sense that all of the funniest parts were played in the trailer, so that when those points arise in the actual movie, they aren’t very funny at all because you’ve already seen them & their funniness is almost ruined by the anticipation of them – I don’t mean it in that way. I mean it in the sense that whoever the Coen Brothers have crafting trailers for them is really fucking good at what they do. I specifically recall the INSIDE LLEWYN DAVIS (2013) trailer being quite the little masterpiece. To be fair, the rest of that movie was pretty darn good, so it didn’t feel like false advertising in the way the one for HAIL, CAESAR! did.

Maybe it’s not just the degree of funniness that felt falsely advertised – it’s also the sense of grandness. All in all, the movie did not feel very grand. It had impressive, somewhat grand scenes (I’m referring to the movie snippets of different genres they included) – but mostly, the whole thing felt very flat to me. Like…there were no significant character arcs, or anything – mostly everyone just stayed the same.

  • Don’t get me wrong – there were certainly funny parts. The communist study group scenes were definitely funny. The tributes to old school Hollywood were also very enjoyable, especially since I’m so actively engaged with the types of films and actors and directors they kept referencing. I’ve seen all of those sorts of movies, and they were spot-on with their impressions of them. Good work team.
  • I feel like this is a movie that could become a lot more appreciated & enjoyed a couple of years down the road. The Coens are great at making movies that spark that sort of thing.
  • Conclusion: Not one of my favorite Coen Brothers movies, but also not one of my least favorites.
  • Ask me again in another several years.
Leave a Reply

