Begin Again (2013)

  • This has really decent reviews on everything – I hope they aren’t wrong!
  • Oh hey! James Corden, pre-talk show. That’s cute.
  • Are you serious?! That’s Keira Knightley’s real singing voice?! (In the first scene, I had to pause the movie to go look up why she was being dubbed – because actors/actresses of her caliber usually opt to do their own singing – only to find out that that is, in fact, her.) That’s crazy – her voice sounds way different than I’d guess!
  • Mark Ruffalo’s reactions to the demos he listens to while in his car (“No, no, NO, NO, NOOOOO!”) are my reactions, to a T.
  • Oh! Hailee Steinfeld! It’s True Grit Cowboy Girl, in the flesh!
  • AND Mos Def? Dang! This movie has everyone!
  • I absolutely LOVE how they handled the second version of the opening scene (from Ruffalo’s perspective). That shit was perfect.
  • (For the record, the song Keira’s singing is crap…but they make it sound like a hit!)
  • I like the organization of this movie. They did a great job with the editing & continuity of it.
  • I think Adam Levine playing a singer/songwriter was not a good idea – it’s too distracting. Maybe if he played another, non-musical character, he’d fit in – but not the character he was cast as.
  • Love the way the first street recording scene is filmed/written. Done perfectly, yet authentically. Bravo.
  • The scenes between Knightley/Ruffalo/Steinfeld are fantastic. So are the Ruffalo/Catherine Keener ones. They’re all pros.
  • Frank Sinatra played over a Times Square montage is so obviously an unoriginal concept, but the way this movie does it – with the split headphones & in real-time – is kinda badass. For such a classic – perhaps overly done – concept, it feels very fresh.
  • Knightley/Ruffalo have exquisite chemistry.
  • And I love James Corden. He’s phenomenal, too.
  • Even though I called Greta (Knightley)’s first song “shit” – I would like to say that the alleyway “Roses” song is better, as is the “Fuck You, Dave Kohl” voicemail song. So there.
  • YEAH, GRETA!!! Fuck yeah! You leave Dave Kohl/Adam Levine on that goddamn park bench! This is an EXCELLENT development, y’all – trust me.
  • THIS IS ONE OF MY FAVORITE ENDINGS TO A MOVIE EVER, YOU GUYS!!!!! I cannot use enough exclamation points!!! The girl ended up ON HER OWN and HAPPY AS FUCK! THIS IS PROBABLY THE GREATEST THING THAT’S EVER HAPPENED.
  • (That might come across as being a little bit over the top, but like…I cannot tell you how fucking RARE an ending like that is, and how much I MOTHERFUCKING LOVE IT.)
  • FIVE STARS.
  • (Yes, I know – I do not usually assign stars to movies. But in this case, I’ll make an exception.)
Leave a Reply

