Love Affair (1939)

  • Having seen AN AFFAIR TO REMEMBER (1957), I never thought it was necessary to also watch this film – but hey, I guess the time has finally come.
  • (I kind of wish I’d watched AN AFFAIR TO REMEMBER more recently than 8 years ago so I could compare the two a little more effectively – but maybe I’ll make that my next re-watch & compare them better then.)
  • “It’s not that I’m prudish – it’s just that my mother told me never to enter a man’s room in any month ending in ‘R.'” — Terry McKay (Irene Dunne)
  • I love how obsessed with pink champagne Charles Boyer seems to be at the beginning of this movie. We’d get along very well…if he was a real-life person.
  • I feel like Terry & Michel (Boyer)’s romance isn’t developed nearly as much as it could be – I don’t really feel the (allegedly) undeniable, irresistible connection between the two of them.
  • Poor Terry. And poor Michel. July 1st ends up being such a drag.
  • Charles Boyer is great in this role. He was born to play this type of character.
  • In AN AFFAIR TO REMEMBER, I don’t recall there being so much story after Terry’s accident. Maybe my memory is faulty – but I don’t remember there being anything about Michel’s painting career or Terry’s music lessons for orphaned children. I mean – I don’t necessarily mind those elements – but they do just kinda feel like filler while we wait for the couple’s inevitable reunitement.
  • Woof. That moment in the theater is rough. They just look at each other and don’t say anything – and then just say hello.

Woof.

  • Kenneth Bradley (Terry’s ex, played by Lee Bowman) is a beaut. He sticks around after Terry rejects him (for a guy who’s not even present!) and helps her, just because he can. Way to go, Kenneth Bradley! You’re the unsung hero of this tale, the way I see it.
  • There’s a children’s choir scene towards the end of this movie (on Christmas Eve, at Terry’s bedside) – and you know what? I actually don’t hate it! I started to roll my eyes when the scene began, but then caught myself – because the scene actually works quite well. Surprise! (And Merry Christmas to us all!)
  • What! Michel’s at the door! He found her! Hooray!
  • I like the way their scene is played – with the roles reversed (acting as if he’s the one who didn’t show up at the Building, although they both know it was the other way around). It’s a clever way to handle the situation.
  • When Michel makes the connection about the girl in his shop, then sees the painting in the next room? Definitely a crying moment! They filmed that sequence exquisitely – and Boyer plays the stuttering moment of realization perfectly. Bravo!
  • The end of this movie is the best part. And I don’t mean that in a “I’m glad this movie is finally over” sense – I mean it in the sense that the ending is really good, and makes the entire movie worthwhile.
  • I think I prefer this one to AN AFFAIR TO REMEMBER…although again, I haven’t seen that one in years. I love Cary Grant & Deborah Kerr – but this one’s just better, I feel.
  • Also, isn’t it interesting that when this was made, Cary Grant was starring in movies with Irene Dunne (THE AWFUL TRUTH (1937), MY FAVORITE WIFE (1940)), but wasn’t in this one? Just the remake, 18 years later. (Says a lot about the treatment of aging actors vs. the treatment of aging actresses, probably – but also I just find it interesting.)
Leave a Reply

